How to File a Workers’ Compensation Claim in Virginia

Virginia residents who suffer an injury while at work may be entitled to workers’ compensation benefits. Most Virginia employers pay into a state-run workers’ compensation program. When their employees suffer on-the-job injuries or occupational diseases, they may apply for monthly benefits. The process of securing workers’ compensation benefits is not easy, however.

The hometown lawyers at Greg Baker Attorneys at Law PLLC have helped many clients in Kentucky and Virginia successfully complete workers’ compensation applications. We have an in-depth understanding of the entire claims process and help clients from start to finish. Contact our workers’ compensation law firm today to schedule your initial consultation and learn how we can help you.

Submitting a Workers’ Compensation Claim in Virginia

Under Virginia’s Workers’ Compensation Act, employees who suffer an injury on the job or a disease related to their employment may be eligible for benefits. Before submitting an application, employees must immediately report their injury to their employer. Sometimes, employers do not take the proper steps to report the incident. Should that happen, the attorneys at Greg Baker Attorneys at Law PLLC can help represent your interests.

Next, employees must file a workers’ compensation claim within two years of the accident. In order to succeed in a workers’ compensation claim, the employee must inform the employer within 30 days of the date of the accident. If the employee suffers from work-related occupational disease, he or she must submit a report to his or her employer within 30 days of a doctor diagnosing the disease or condition. Reporting the incident to the employer and filing the claim with the Virginia Workers’ Compensation Commission on time is essential. The Commission will deny claims when the employee does not meet the deadlines.

How to Submit a Workers’ Compensation Claim

Employees who have suffered an on-the-job injury in Virginia may submit a claim in any of the following ways:

  • In-person by completing the benefits claim form and delivering it to an office location
  • By mailing in the Claim for Benefits Form
  • By faxing the completed form
  • By submitting the application online

What happens when an employer has already made payments to the employee for his or her injury? The employee must still submit the Claim for Benefits Form in order to receive monthly disability payments. After the submission of a Claim for Benefits, the Claim Administrator will accept the claim and send an Award Agreement to the injured employee. After all of the parties sign the agreement, the Commission will enter an Award Order, which protects the employee’s benefits. If the parties do not agree, they will attend alternative dispute resolution, and possibly a hearing to resolve any disputed issues.

We can Help

At Greg Baker Attorneys at Law PLLC, our friendly, hometown lawyers have helped many Virginia clients through the workers’ compensation claims process. You do not have to go through the process alone. Contact us to discover how we can help you every step of the way